Skip to content Skip to navigation

Faculty and Research Groups

Meet the Faculty and Staff


Approximately seven faculty members in the Departments of Materials Science and Engineering (Profs. Shan Wang, Robert M. White, Bob Sinclair, Bruce Clemens,), Applied Physics (Prof. Yuri Suzuki), Electrical Engineering (Prof. Shan Wang), SLAC National Lab (Dr. Hendrik Ohldag), Surgery and Stanford Translational Medicine (Prof. Bruce Ling) are involved with the Center.  Click at faculty name to visit pertinent group sites.


Director: Prof. Shan X. Wang

Dr. Wang is a Professor and Associate Chair of Materials Science & Engineering and jointly Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University, and by courtesy, a Professor of Radiology at Stanford School of Medicine. He directs the Center for Magnetic Nanotechnology, and is a co-Principal Investigator of the Center for Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence for Translational Diagnostics (CCNE-TD) at Stanford University. He has over 240 publications, and holds 46 issued or pending patents in the area of magnetic nanotechnology, biosensors, nanofabrication, spintronics, power management and information storage. He is a scientific founder of MagArray Inc. and serves on the advisory boards of Nvigen Inc. and several other companies. He is elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and a Fellow of American Physical Society (APS) for his seminal contributions to magnetic materials and nanosensors. He has been recognized by numerous other honors and awards, including an Inaugural Frederick Terman Fellowship and a Distinguished Award in XPrize Foundation’s Nokia Sensing XCHALLENGE Competition.

Associate Director: Dr. Wilman Tsai

Wilman Tsai is currently the associate director of Center of Magnetic Nanotechnology at Stanford. He also acts as executive director of IMPACT (Innovative Materials and Processes for Accelerated Computer Technologies) research center, and an adjunct faculty of Materials Science Engineering department.

From 2015-2019, he is director of Research at TSMC Corporation. He is responsible for development of strategic research programs with academia, consortia, suppliers and industrial partners. He manages device research collaborations for TSMC, responsible for research programs in advanced logics and memory devices for 3 nm node and beyond. His current research focus include machine learning hardwares, steep slope FETs, 2D semiconductor , CNT, ferroelectrics, 3D integration and embedded memory devices.

Previously he was the Technology Strategy Program Manager and Principal Engineer of Technology Manufacturing Group, Intel Corporation, Santa Clara, CA. He chairs the Emerging Research Device forum in Intel’s Semiconductor Technology Committee (STC) where he manages over 40 university research programs in charged-based scaling of CMOS logic and memory devices. He has been promoting strong interactions between industries, academia and consortia to advance electronics materials and device research for the future generations. His external research teams has been monumental in enabling various research innovations with academia and consortia groups, such as high mobility channel CMOS and emerging memory technologies.

Dr. Tsai serves on executive advisory boards of GRC, STARnet/NRI, JUMP/nCORE, Sematech and IMEC research consortia, and is Representative Council member of Taiwan Semiconductor Industry Association. He obtained his PhD from California Institute of Technology in 1987. He is also a consulting faculty at Stanford University, Center of Integrated Systems, Industrial Advisory Board of MIT-MTL, an IEEE/TED editor, Executive Program Committee member for Material Research Society, American Vacuum Society and VLSI-TSA. He received 2009 Mahboob Khan Outstanding Industry Liaison Awards from SRC. He holds >30 US Patents and over 150 journal/conference publications.